Home > Blogging, Career > How To Reignite Your Passion For Your Job

How To Reignite Your Passion For Your Job

I ran into a friend of mine in the cafeteria at work yesterday.  Even though he is in a much higher position me, we tend to commiserate with each other.  I told him something that I’m not really sure I was aware of until recently.

“I like my job more than I have in a long time now.”

The problem is that I went through a period where I didn’t like my job much at all.  In fact, from about December 2014 until a month or so ago, I really didn’t like it at all.

It would be easy to place the blame on others.  My team.  My boss.  The real reason I didn’t like my job much anymore is because of one person.

Me.

I had really been coasting for a while.  I thought that all I had done to get where I was would keep me there.  I had made it and I was all that.  Oh, I didn’t think this consciously, but I exhibited it with my behavior.  And it wasn’t going to cut it anymore.

My boss finally really let me know about it in my review.  The next several months were rough.  The definitely weren’t much fun.  Finally something changed and work is fun again.  What happened?

A switch went off in my brain.  Or maybe deep in my soul.  I started putting the effort back into my job.  The passion was back.

The question has to be asked.  What does one do to reignite passion back into a job when you have lost it?  Here’s what I did?

First, I examined who I was working for.  It can’t just be about me.  I had to remember that I work for the Lord.  Sure, I work for a company, but my work has to reflect the One who owns me.

Second, I had to examine my motives.  What was I working for personally?  What is my vision for my job? My leadership?  What is my mission?

Third, who else is affected by my job?  My family, sure.  My team.  My peers.  My boss.  My customers.

Finally, I had to make sure that I really wanted to continue doing what I do.  Was I done?  Or was there more to do?

Once I had answered those questions, I found a hunger and passion returning for my job.  I was excited to go to work again.

How about you?  Do you love your job?  What are you doing about it if you don’t?  If you do, what are you doing to keep it?

Categories: Blogging, Career Tags: , ,
  1. January 27, 2016 at 8:36 am

    I love my job more now than I ever have in 40+ years.

  2. January 27, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    For the most part, I do love my job.

    • January 27, 2016 at 8:29 pm

      I did for years…hit that lull and now I love it again

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

