Home > Christianity, Faith > Something That Surprised Me About Vision

Something That Surprised Me About Vision

One of the things I love to study and look at is vision.  I want a great vision for my life.  I have been challenged to develop a vision for my work.  So, I am, like George H.W. Bush, working on the “vision thing.”

One place I am looking at is in the Bible.  Visions are common there and I’m not just talking about the kind of visions that we would most associate with mystical encounters with God.  No, I am talking about the kind of vision where someone who someone has to do something great in the Lord’s name.

What amazes and surprises me is one thing that all of these visions have in common.

They are simple.

God gave Noah a vision to do one thing.  Build an ark to save himself and his family.

God gave Abraham simple visions.  Leave the land where you’re from and I’ll show you where to go.  I will make a great nation out of you.

God gave Moses a simple vision.  Take my people out of Egypt to the Promised Land.

God gave David a simple vision.  I will make you king and your throne will never end.

These visions were clear and simple.  That is not to say that they were easy.

Noah had to deal with naysayers for about one hundred years, people laughing at him and ignoring him.

Abraham hit a few bumps in the road.  He first started heading to that land God would show him and he stopped for while.  Once he got there he and Sarah decided that they were too old to have children for God to begin a nation with.

Moses?  He had to deal with a Pharaoh and a few million Israelites that didn’t want to cooperate.

David had to wait and be chased around by another king before he could ascend the throne.

Just because God gives you a vision doesn’t mean that it’s going to easy.  In fact, it may get harder before it gets better.  The thing is that if we persevere, we will realize the vision.

Vision isn’t easy.  Vision can be hard.  But it’s worth it to achieve it.

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags:
  1. January 28, 2016 at 7:40 am

    We have worked and reworked out vision over the years. I’m happy with it now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

