Home > Blogging, Church > Why You Should Blog (Or Do Anything Of Value)

Why You Should Blog (Or Do Anything Of Value)

I have been blogging for a while now.  In fact, it’s been just over seven years since wrote that first terrible post.  Many other terrible posts, of course, followed it.  Like anything else you are aren’t very good when you start.  You work yourself up to not too bad with the hope eventually you will be good.  At least that’s my experience.

The question some might asked is why?  Why do I, or anyone else, sit down to write these posts day after day, week after week, for years?

My motivation began when my friend, Matt, encouraged me to blog.  It was a way for me to unload ideas that I had no other forum for.

Then, as I’ve mentioned before, I began to use this opportunity as a time to grind my ax.  Or axes in some cases.  Not the wisest of choices.

How about now?

Maybe I’ve learned my lesson.  Maybe I’ve found the real reason to write a blog.  It really comes down to one thing.

Adding value.

If I’m not adding value to someone’s life, then this really only become an exercise in vanity, a chance to prop up my ego.

It’s the same as anything else.

Why teach or lead a class or a group at church?  You had better be adding value to someone’s life.

Why take a leadership role in your business?  Adding value had better be part of the equation.

If you aren’t, you are only focused on yourself.  You will find that you are aren’t really leading anyone.  You may be telling people something.  You may be conveying information.  But you won’t truly find yourself leading anyone.

I encourage you to pause for a second.  You can do that right now.  I’m in no hurry.  I’ll wait on you.

Take a look at yourself.  Examine your motives.  There’s nothing wrong with some that improve your own life.  They just can’t be the only ones.  There better be some that include someone else.

How are you adding value to others?

Categories: Blogging, Church Tags: ,
  1. February 1, 2016 at 3:00 pm

    I sincerely hope I am adding value to peoples’ lives by my blog. By my daily living and interaction.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

