Home > Christianity, Faith > Do You Know Your Purpose?

Do You Know Your Purpose?

We have been having a series that recently wrapped  at church.  It took us through four steps of Follow, Connect, Discover and Serve.  We followed up a sermon each Sunday on each point with a class on Wednesday night.

For the Discover section of the series, we took two tests.  One was a short version of the DISC personality profile.  The other was a spiritual gifts test.

I was not surprised by the results.  I was an extremely high D with a little bit of I thrown in.  After seeing my results from several DISCs over the years I believe that I am a natural D who has developed the I so that I don’t totally bulldoze people along the way.

My spiritual gifts test?  Well, I’m not really going to go into what they are except to say that at least one of them irritates me in other people.  Combine that with the fact that hospitality ranked among my lowest and I come to a pretty good conclusion.

I don’t really like to be in groups of people.

I jokingly tweeted, after taking the test, that I don’t play well with others.

I actually like people fairly well.  It’s just that when I have to start interacting with more than a few people, I feel awkward and out of place.

The purpose of all of this is that we were supposed to discover our purpose.  That’s probably a lot to ask for a couple of hours of looking at this.

The bottom line, for me at least, is that I have absolutely no idea what my purpose at my church is.  This would have caused me a lot of angst a few years ago.  Now?  Not so much.

I may never know what I’m at my church for.  That’s ok.  I’m pretty doggone happy.  I know what I’m good at, what gift I’ve been given and what I like to do.  If the Lord wants me to do something in my church one day, I’ll find out.

Do you know what your spiritual gift is?  How about your personality profile?

  1. February 8, 2016 at 8:20 am

    I know both of them. I’m also an extreme extrovert

  2. February 8, 2016 at 11:32 am

    My MBTI (Myers-Briggs Temperament Index) is ESTJ – Extrovert, Sensing, Thinking, Judging. I took the DISC profile several years ago, and I fall into the Perfectionist Pattern (high S and high C). My spiritual gifts indicate Administration, Faith, and Helps are where I’m at.

    • February 8, 2016 at 11:53 am

      I think I’m an INTJ. I’m a DI, results oriented. And for gifts it’s leadership, teaching, prophecy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

