Home > Christianity, Faith > What Difference Are You Making?

What Difference Are You Making?

I mentioned the other day that we took a spiritual gifts test at church recently.  I failed to mention what my particular gifts resulted from the test.

Leadership, teaching, knowledge and prophecy were what this test said my gifts actually were.

It is interesting that two of these are things that I truly love and have a passion for.  I love to teach the Bible and use that in my campground ministry every summer.  Leadership is a passion and I pursue learning as much about it as I can.  Knowledge and prophecy?  I don’t know quite as much about as these others.

What I do know is that there is something that I hadn’t really thought about until the last couple of days.

Your gift does not equate your role.

Just because I have the gift of teaching does not mean that you should automatically have a role of teacher.

Having the gift of leadership does not mean that you should have the role of leader.

The other two?  I’m still not 100% sure what role might possibly line up with them.

Here’s what I do know.

You can be a difference maker with each of these gifts.  My pastor called me out in front of the church and asked what my job was.  I told him where I worked.  He said that I am called to be a difference maker there.

You have the gift of teaching?  You might teach one person that you come in contact with.

You have the gift of leadership?  You might lead someone to greater things than they can imagine.

The gifts of prophecy and knowledge?  I’ll get back to you on those.

The bottom line is this.  Don’t stress about your role.  Look for opportunity to glorify God with your gift.

What difference are you making?

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. February 10, 2016 at 6:07 am

    You are right larry. We are all called to make a difference where we are. There is no small job and there are no little people, no little places (to quote Frances Schaeffer).

  2. robshep
    February 10, 2016 at 9:41 am

    Great word! We are called to make a difference. Let’s make the world a better place by using our gifts for God’s glory.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

