Home > Blogging, Movies > Deadpool: A Movie Review

Deadpool: A Movie Review

Add Deadpool to the list of successful comic book movies.  It galloped past the competition, setting a February record for box office receipts, beating out last year’s 50 Shades of Gray.

As anyone who knows me, well, knows, I love superhero movies.  They are my sweet spot.  These are the movies I look forward to each year.  This one is unlike any other that has hit the scene.

Wade Wilson is a mercenary who develops cancer.  He agrees to undergo experimental treatments that will cure him of his cancer and give him extraordinary abilities.  It works, but leaves him changed and unable to live a normal life.  He pursues those who made him this way and save his girlfriend.  That’s the G rated version of what happens.

First of all, don’t take a child to see this movie.  Language, violence and sex are just a few of the reasons it’s rated R.  Generally speaking, if you can think of a reason for a movie to be R rated, it’s in here.

There are redeeming qualities to the movie.  Wade Wilson will stick up for the little guy.  He does this by helping out a young girl with a stalker problem.  He also is extremely loyal to those he cares about.  Other than that?  Well, let’s just say that few of us would really want to hang out with this character.

If you want standard superhero fare, just wait over a month to see Batman take on Superman.  After that, Captain America will be just around the corner.  This movie is nothing like those.

Categories: Blogging, Movies Tags:
  1. robshep
    February 15, 2016 at 6:48 am

    I hate that they made it a hard R. I’ll have to wait until they show it on TBS.

    • February 15, 2016 at 6:49 am

      Yeah, I would wait if I were you.

    • Anthony
      February 15, 2016 at 12:15 pm

      I agree. I always look up movies on pluggedin.com a Dr. Dobson resource on movie critiques. The following was commented regarding language: (About 75 f-words, 40 s-words and a pool of crudities, including “a–,” “b–ch,” “h—” and “p—.” We hear the n-word. God’s name is misused, at least once with “d–n.” Jesus’ name is thrice abused.) They also cautioned kids, teens and adults that the content was “heavy.” Just something to think about.

      • February 15, 2016 at 12:19 pm

        Not sure I heard the N word, but I would agree on everything else. I don’t really rely on anyone else to tell me what is in a movie. For one, where did they get the info? Did they watch it? I just make the determination if I will see something and live with it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

