Home > Christianity, Faith > What’s Your Next Step?

What’s Your Next Step?

Do you remember dot to dot books?

I haven’t seen any in a while.  I don’t have any kids around anymore.  Well, let me rephrase that.  I don’t have any younger kids anymore.

I used to spend a lot of time as a kid working dot to dots.  You know, start at one and follow to completion.  You end up  with a picture.

The thing about these pictures is that you couldn’t see what you were drawing until the end.  All you could see was the next line to draw from one number to the next.

That’s a lot like life, isn’t it?  You can’t see the big picture, the full picture.  Often you only see the next step to take.

God doesn’t give us the whole thing at once.  He just kind of gives us a general idea and then a step to take.

Build an ark.

Go to land that I’ll show you.

I’ll make you a father of many nations.

I’ll give you a land full of milk and honey.

Follow me and I’ll make you fishers of men.

And so it goes.

You don’t get the full picture with God.  He just says to take the next step, follow from dot to dot.

What’s your next step?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags:
  1. March 2, 2016 at 6:26 am

    My next step is to simply look for the next open door and follow His lead.

  2. robshep
    March 2, 2016 at 4:13 pm

    Great illustration! My next step is to make a new hire for an executive pastor. This is a big new step for me and our church.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

