Home > Christianity, Faith > It Doesn’t Matter If You Have A Tattoo Or Not

It Doesn’t Matter If You Have A Tattoo Or Not

I don’t have any tattoos.  I don’t expect that I ever will.  It’s interesting how my thoughts on them have changed over the years.  I used to think that only drunk people and people far away from God had tattoos.  When, occasionally, I noticed that someone from church had a tattoo I took it as evidence of their life before Christ.

*****

My friend got a tattoo the other day.  It is on the inside of his arm and contains part of a Bible verse.  He doesn’t plan on getting any more and seems satisfied with the one.

We had a conversation with someone else at work recently.  The subject of whether Christians can have tattoos or not came up.  My opinion on it was that Jesus fulfilled the Law and we’re free to do a lot of things that Israel couldn’t.  Plus, the Lord told Peter in a vision that he was free to eat any food, not just that which Jews were unable to eat before Christ.  Not to mention a whole lot of other stuff like the Law being a tutor and that we’re Gentiles.

*****

So, what does that mean for all of us?

It’s easy to get a ton of stuff wrong.  We read the Bible and say stuff all the time like, “We follow the Bible” and “The Bible says.  Period.”  Yet, we don’t stop and try to think about what it meant for the people it was written for and what that means for us now.

Why in the world did God tell Israel not to mark themselves with tattoos anyway?  Because He wanted them to be different from the other nations around them.  He wanted them to holy and totally sold out to Him.

The great thing is that Jesus fulfilled the Law.  He completed it.  All of that stuff that was required of Israel, what was impossible for them to do, was possible for Him.  He did it.

In God’s eyes there aren’t Jews or Gentiles anymore.  There are just those that come to Christ and those who don’t.

It doesn’t matter if you have a tattoo or don’t.

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags:
  1. March 7, 2016 at 11:37 am

    I agree. I don’t have one but not because I am against it. I can’t afford it. 🙂

    • March 7, 2016 at 12:34 pm

      Haha, that’s something I don’t understand, Bill. How are college students getting them?

  2. robshep
    March 7, 2016 at 3:33 pm

    I agree. I got one a few years ago as a reminder to take holy risks for God.

  3. March 8, 2016 at 3:44 pm

    I don’t have one, but have thought about possibly doing something to commemorate my fitness journey at some point. Although, being married, it’s not entirely up to me–my body not being just mine and all.

  4. Steve Y
    March 13, 2016 at 7:08 am

    I wouldn’t get one because I heard that they are painful upon application. I used to think like you too. I am pleased that I am less judgemental in my years.

    • March 13, 2016 at 7:27 am

      Yeah, the thought of a bunch of needles sticking me is not appealing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

