Home > Blogging, Family > 3 Things I Learned During Staycation

3 Things I Learned During Staycation

Last week was Spring Staycation 16.  While this would normally have given me time to write a few posts, I basically took the week off.  Not just from work, but from most things.  It turned out to be a great week, the last high school spring break I spend with any of my kids.  Life is changing.

So, what did I do?  And better yet, what did I learn last week?

First, that I simply need to get away from everything.  Yes, I need to get away from work at times, but I also need to get away from all of my other routines.  I didn’t tweet as much.  I read some blogs and commented on a few, but overall I spent little time looking at blogs.  I worked around the house some.  I moved for the first time this year.  I watched some mindless stuff on Netflix. It was nice.

Next, I resumed my love of spending time with my family.  My wife and daughter weren’t here all week, but my son was.  We spend a lot of time together normally, but we just did a lot of nothing together.  We listened to some college baseball.  We actually threw baseball together even though we don’t have any illusions of playing any more.  Family is definitely among the highest values in my life.

Finally, I was able to just do a lot of thinking about things that I don’t normally think about.  I reflected on life, work and other aspects of life.  That’s one of the great things about vacations: you get away and reboot, so to speak.

Going forward, Staycations won’t be the same again.  I’m going to have to get creative and find new ways to spend some of this quality time that I have spent with my family over the past decade or so.

How do you spend vacations and Staycations?

Categories: Blogging, Family Tags: ,
  1. March 21, 2016 at 12:06 pm

    just curious…im in a show hole.. which “mindless” shows did you watch on netflix? LOL

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

