Home > Christianity, Faith, Movies > What I Have Learned From Batman vs. Superman Already

What I Have Learned From Batman vs. Superman Already

Friday night will find me watching Batman vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice.  I may not have ever been this excited to see a movie (unless, of course, you count Tim Burton’s Batman in 1989.)  In fact, I have already learned a lesson.

You see, I was an avid comic book reader until I reached the realities of adulthood, which is that marriage could not support my comic book habit.  In fact, my oldest remaining comic book is a Justice League of America issue from 1973.

In the back of comic books in those day were letters to the editor.  I remember many of those old books dreaming of a Justice League movie and fancasting who would play those heroes.  While we had Superman in 1978, I never truly believed that we could ever have all of those heroes together in one movie.  Of course, we’ve had the Avengers since then.

Think about that for a minute.  I have been waiting almost 40 years for this movie. That’s enough time for the children of Israel to wander around in the wilderness until they could enter the Promised Land.  It’s how long Jeremiah preached without a convert.

What this movie does, when I reflect on it, is how good God is.  He may not give us what we want when we want it, but He will in His own timing.

Is it silly that I can see a God lesson in a movie that I haven’t even seen yet?  Maybe.  But it also goes to show that we should be looking for what God has to show us about Himself in everyday life.

Even if it’s a movie I’ve been waiting for since I was a kid.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

