Home > Movies > Why Listen To Movie Critics?

Why Listen To Movie Critics?

In just a few hours I’m going to see Batman vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice.  Like I said in an earlier post, I’ve been waiting for this movie for decades.  It’s finally here.

Critics are ripping the movie and director Zack Snyder’s production.  It seems like there is a concerted effort to stop the movie before it even gets started.

Guess what?  I’m going to love the movie.  Why?  I don’t go to movies unless I’m going to love them.  If I went to 100 movies, I would love 99 of them.

What I don’t understand is why anyone really cares about what critics say.  What gives them any credibility when it comes to reviewing movies anyway?  Every time I watch some movie critic on TV, I wonder what exactly they did to get that job.  My local station that I watch has a young guy review movies on Sundays and I never understand what the appeal is to the movies he likes.  Likewise, he hates the movies I like.

I have begun using what critics say as a guide to avoid movies more than what I watch.  If critics love it, there is a 99% chance I will hate it.

I also find this to be the case with Academy Award winners.  There was one I gave in and watched a couple of years ago.  After it was over I couldn’t figure out why I  had really watched it.  By the way, the critics loved it as well.

What I have decided is that critics and I are out of step with each other.  I have decided something else as well.

We pay way too much attention to the opinions, in general, of others.  We want to be in on what is hip and cool.  I’ve been guilty of that in the past.  I’m not necessarily immune to it now.

So, I’m going to see Batman and Superman duke it out tonight.  I’m going  to love every minute of it.  And I don’t care what one critic says about.

Unless, of course, they agree with me.

How do you choose what movies you will see?  Do you care what critics have to say about it?  Why?

  1. March 25, 2016 at 1:51 am

    couldn’t agree more.

  2. March 25, 2016 at 1:53 am

    couldn’t agree more. There are times I feel like movie critics get paid more to rip a movie down than to give it praise.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

