Home > Blogging, Fitness > Lesson #1 From My Half-Marathon

Lesson #1 From My Half-Marathon

I ran a half-marathon yesterday.  For most of it, it was a good experience.  Unfortunately, it ended up being a brutal test.  The first ten miles were good and went according to plan.  The last three?  They were full of cramps and I thought it would never end.  However, there were several lessons I learned this time out.  Today I will share one of them.

You have probably heard the story about geese, especially if you have spent any time in church.  Geese fly in a V formation.  Each goose takes its turn at the point, rotating  out and letting another take its place.  When you see this happening in person you will hear the geese honking to encourage each other.  When a goose becomes ill or injured, it will drop out and another goose or two will drop out with it.  They stay together until the goose has recovered and then they take off in order to catch the larger group.

I found this to be much the same with this half-marathon.

Running with a large group carried me further than I could have gone on my own.  My fitness level wasn’t where I wanted it to be for this race.  However, I found myself at mile seven feeling great.  Just past this point was the worst hill of the race.  I had planned to walk it and did.  Once I got through that, I continued.  And it was great until the previously mentioned mile 10.  The runners, spectators and bands encouraged me to go further than I really thought I could.

One girl on my work team was struggling early.  I asked her if she was ok.  She smiled and waved me on.  Later, she stopped and asked if I was ok, offering to carry me on her back.  It was great to have another “goose’ willing to help me out.

The bottom line is that we are all in this together, whether it’s a half-marathon or life in general.  We need each other.  Each of us need to be picked up and each of us need to do some picking up.  It’s not rocket science.  It’s who we are and what we need to do.

Have you been an injured or sick goose?  Have you helped another goose?

Categories: Blogging, Fitness Tags: ,
  1. jonstolpe
    April 4, 2016 at 9:09 am

    I’ve experienced both sides of this. It’s humbling to be the “lame goose.” But it’s also healthy to receive the support from the other stronger geese.

  2. April 4, 2016 at 9:20 am

    had had that happen on long bike rides. My very first one I was isolated from the one who asked me to go with him (he took off and left me). Fortunately, I found others from his group who included me and we rode the 100+ miles together.

  3. April 4, 2016 at 9:50 am

    I am hoping to be carried through to a sub 2-hour half marathon this coming weekend by a friend who is a much stronger runner than I. Running in a group definitely has its benefits.

  4. robshep
    April 4, 2016 at 4:17 pm

    I find this same thing with CrossFit. I’m pushed and encouraged by others who are cheering me on.

  5. April 4, 2016 at 7:17 pm

    Congrats!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

