Home > Blogging, Fitness > Lesson #2 From My Half-Marathon

Lesson #2 From My Half-Marathon

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I ran a half-marathon Sunday.  One of the side effects of doing a lot of running is that I get a lot of thoughts.

I mentioned that following mile 10 I cramped.  Specifically, my right foot began cramping.  I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to continue, but on the other hand, I was bound and determined to get across the finish line if I had to crawl.

That finally eased up, but I faced another obstacle.  My left quad began to tighten up and cramp.  I basically hobbled and walked the last three miles.  As I reflected, there was really one reason.

Preparation.

I was much more prepared a month or so ago than I was the last two or three weeks.  My training had taken a nosedive.  I was really living on the fumes of my training in January and February.  March?  Not so good.  But that’s not all.

I grabbed something to drink at just about every liquid stop.  I realize that wasn’t enough.  I was hydrated well enough before the race.  This was evidenced by the cramps.  Drinking along just wasn’t enough.

I don’t think I ate enough prior to the race either.  Midway through the race I was starving and I never get hungry during a run.  That being said, I didn’t do like one guy who ate a burrito and had a beer during the race.  But I do see the value in fueling up better.

I’m actually planning on running a few more half-marathons this year.  I’m going to take what I learned running this one in order to do better next time.

Do you prepare for the events you face in life?

  1. robshep
    April 5, 2016 at 9:55 am

    My first half marathon was so easy because of my prep. My second wasn’t that hard and I did a lot less prep. My third about killed me. I did little prep and was struggling bad for the last 3 miles. So…sometimes I prep and other times I wing it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

