Home > Christianity, Faith > What A Well Pleased Life Looks Like

What A Well Pleased Life Looks Like

In a few short weeks, I will begin leading my annual services at a local campground.  I have been doing this since 2002, so this will make the fifteenth consecutive year that I have been doing this at this particular campground.

I spent about four years preaching and teaching through the gospel of John.  Since then I have been weaving my way through Paul’s letters.  I knew that I needed to do something different and I am returning to the gospels.  This year, and probably for a few summers, I will be making my way through Mark’s gospel.

One of the things that jumps out at you in the first chapter is Jesus’ baptism.  Like John, we all probably scratch our heads a bit at Jesus being baptized.  After all, if anyone didn’t need to be baptized, it’s Jesus.

That isn’t what stood out to me, though, this time.  No, it’s what the Father said to Jesus when He came out of the water.  He said, “You are My beloved Son, in You I am well pleased.”

That statement astounds me.

First, it was personal.  The Father said that Jesus was His beloved Son.  He didn’t just say you are a beloved Son.  No, the Father was a proud papa.  Think about when you see your own children do something that makes you proud.  You can hardly contain yourself.  This is that kind of moment for the Father.

Second, the Father was well pleased in Jesus.  Often when we tell our children they have pleased us, we tag a but on the end of it.  “You did great, but….you could have done better.”  None of that with Jesus.  The Father is simply please with Him.

Here’s the cool thing.  Because of what Jesus did on the cross, the Father has the same reaction when he sees those of us who have trusted Christ for salvation.

We are now joint heirs with Jesus.  We are God’s beloved children.  He is proud of us because when He looks upon us, we are covered by the blood of Jesus.

The Father is well pleased in us.  Just like Jesus.  No buts.  Just please.

What difference does that make?

We have the same inheritance as the One who died on the cross.

We live the same God pleasing life because of Christ’s sacrifice.

Those two thoughts should directly affect how we live our lives.  The heirs of royalty live differently that those who don’t.  When you please someone, your actions are different from when you don’t.

Jesus lived a life and died on the cross so that we can have the same benefits that He has with the Father.  Let’s start living like who we really already are and not like people who will get there some day.

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

