Home > Blogging > What I Would Tell My 20 Year Old Self

What I Would Tell My 20 Year Old Self

There is a podcast I listen to that asks five questions throughout each episode.  The last question the hosts asks the person they are interviewing has been piquing my interest of late.  It got like this:

What would you tell your 20 year old self?

I laughed the first few times I heard it, but lately I have taken it more seriously.  I turned 20 during at the beginning of my junior year of college.  What would I tell that guy looking back nearly three decades later?

I would tell that guy to not worry so much about women.  Don’t try so hard.  Be friends with gals first and then see what happens.  I was blessed to meet my wife a couple of years after this, but this advice would have lessened my stress level.

I would have told my younger self to seek a job that you think is fun.  Where would I tell him to work?  Dollywood.  Regal Cinemas.  Something where he would have to work hard, but would be super fun at the same time.

I would tell that guy to work on relationships no matter what he did.  Relationships with friends.  Relationships with superiors.  Relationships with peers.  Relationships in the community.

I would tell that guy to have enjoy life even when he didn’t have money.  Figure out a way to do the things you want to do as you go along in life so that you don’t have regrets.

I would tell that guy to get right with God and get moving in that relationship.  Find a purpose in life spiritually.

I would tell him to enjoy his kids that are coming.  Enjoy each step along the way.  Don’t worry about having it all figured out.  You can’t.  You just learn as you go.

I’m sure there is more.  I would want that guy to get through life a little easier.  I would cram as much of what I have learned into that guy.  I’m just not sure he would listen.

What would you tell your 20 year old self?

Categories: Blogging
  1. Kay'sXYZ
    April 18, 2016 at 2:46 am

    I love this ! I would definitely tell my 20 year old self not to worry about relationships and be friends with men first. I would also tell myself not to put so much stock into what people say…but more into what they do. People’s actions will always expose them for who they are. Most of all I would tell myself to be you! No excuses. Don’t change who you are for anyone else, if people don’t like…..they have every right to seek out what they like. Faking who you are to appease others only hurts you and everyone around you.

  2. April 18, 2016 at 6:48 am

    There is a lot I have learned over the last 43 years (I’m 63) that I would love to tell my 20 year old self. I would definitely tell him to learn humility. Your arrogance will be a problem. I will tell him to stay away from things which rob purity. I would tell him to enjoy life more. Get out and enjoy the adventure. i would tell him to quit playing basketball past your prime. Start biking sooner. It will be a whole lot easier on your joints and you wouldn’t be paying the price now. Cultivate an intimate relationship with Jesus first.

  3. robshep
    April 18, 2016 at 11:30 am

    I would tell my 20 year old self to read more books on leadership. I would also tell him to save more money.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

