Home > Uncategorized > What’s Your Label?

What’s Your Label?

There used to be a commercial on TV for canned vegetables. It went something like this: 

When you have Libby’s, Libby’s, Libby’s on the label, label, label then you will like it, like it, like it on the table, table, table.

Now, honestly, I have no idea if I ever ate Libby’s green beans, corn or any other vegetable. I know that I didn’t for a lot of year because we had a garden and raised and canned our own. And I’m dangerously close to getting off topic.

The point is that I still remember what was on that label. It was Libby’s and it was supposed to be good. Libby’s was a good label.

*****

It is so easy being a nerd now. In fact, it’s even celebrated and neediness  has gone mainstream.  It wasn’t always so.

I collected comic books back when I was a kid. And that was fine while I was a kid. There just seemed to be this unwritten rule than you gave them up at a certain age. That was just for weirdoes that lived in their mother’s basement, never mind that my room was in my parent’s basement.

I didn’t tell too many people that I collected comic books when I was still in college. Now? A badge of honor. Then? Not so much.

*****

Two labels. Brands, so to speak. One that is good. Another that has been changed over the years.

You have a label. A brand.

Are you that guy that everyone knows and loves?

Are you the guy that no one has ever seen go to the store without buying a twelve pack? Every day.

Are you the lady who makes great apple pies that everyone wants at the church fellowship?

Are you the blogger who stirred up trouble in his own town?

No matter what, you have a label. Whether it’s a good one or bad is entirely up to you.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. robshep
    June 2, 2016 at 11:17 am

    So true. I am not trying to be super spiritual with my reply. I truly want my label to read grace.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

