Home > Blogging, Faith, Life Management, Values, Vision > Why You Need To Take A Day Off

Why You Need To Take A Day Off

Jan and I celebrated our 24th wedding anniversary a couple of days ago.  We did the normal things, like going out to eat at a special restaurant.  However, next year is the big one and it deserves something special.

We began tossing around some ideas and if we do what we talked about, it will take some planning.

That’s the thing about a lot of things in life.  They take planning.  Vacations.  Buying a car.  Weddings (yeah, my daughter is getting married next year).  Life.

Yes, life takes some planning if you want it to end up the way you want it.  That’s why I’m taking a day off today.

I’m going to spend the day planning my life.  I’m going to start with the end in mind.  I’m going to plan my funeral.  Who I want to be there.  What I want to be said about me.  How I want to be remembered.

Trust me, I’m not there yet.

Then I’m going to define my values and what’s most important to me.  My priorities.  My life accounts.

Finally, I’m going to write my purpose statement.

None of this is anything original that I have come up with.  I’ve attempted this before based on some seminars I’ve attended.  The latest motivation to do this is the book Living Forward by Michael Hyatt and Daniel Harkavy.  I commend it if you wake up one day and realize that you are drifting way too much in life.

Now, I could encounter some push back.  Someone could say that they just want to live free and by the Spirit.  I want to as well.  Trust me, I’m praying my way through this.   Plus, I tend to see that God gives life plans to His people in the Bible.  That the life plan comes from the Spirit.

I don’t know if you are interested, but I commend this type of exercise to you.  Take a day off.  Get out of your normal routine and surroundings.  Quit drifting and plan your life.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

