Home > Christianity, Faith > Make Love, Not War

Make Love, Not War

I’m sure you’ve seen the title of this post before.  It came into the national conversation during the Vietnam War, back when I was barely a  glimmer in anyone’s eye.

The thing about this statement is that it is saying that these two things are mutually exclusive.  It’s as though one cannot hold love and war in their life at the same time.  I’m not going to speak for everyone, but I don’t really think that to be the case.

I feel the same way about something I tweeted the other day.  My tweet was some like this:

We are not called to make music, but to make disciples.

I felt pretty proud of myself after sharing this on the Twitter.  Here is the funny thing.  I got several likes when it made its way to Facebook.  However, I got some push back on Twitter.

The push back came because someone took exception to it.  They said THE way to discipleship is through making music, mainly because that is how it happened for them.

Sorry, but I can’t buy that one either.  But I did change my mind a little.

I don’t think the main thing we are called to do is to make disciples or make music.  It’s not either/or.  It’s not one or the other.  Instead, I think we’re called to something greater.

I think we are called to glorify God in everything we do.  How do we do that?

By making disciples.  By making music.  And so much more.

We might glorify God through every bite of food we take, through every swallow of drink we take in.

We might glorify God by running a marathon or walking to the mailbox.

Maybe it’s by driving the speed limit and stopping at yellow.

It could be anything.

It could be by making love or making war.  Or both.

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. robshep
    September 8, 2016 at 7:52 am

    The Hokie Pokie has it wrong. Glorifying God is what it’s all about.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

