Home > Uncategorized > Respond or React???

Respond or React???

I’ve wanted to write this post for a week, but I keep getting stuck to the point that I would just have to put my computer up.  Finally, I think, I am able to push through and do it.

Someone I know wrote a rant on Facebook this week.  I’m not judging.  I’ve done it before and I’m afraid that I will again.

What happened was that this person felt wronged in business situation.  They wanted to make sure that all of their family and friends knew about it so that they would not patronize this business.

Unfortunately, this doesn’t work for me.  I’m the guy who wants to jump on the grass when I see a keep off the grass sign.  I see a wet paint sign?  I’m touching.  However, that isn’t really what this post is about.

The big problem I see is that this person reacted to their wrong or, perhaps, their perceived wrong.  They went off on the internet to make sure that the one who wronged them felt their wrath.

What if, instead, they had responded?

What’s the difference?

Reacting seems to always involve negative feelings.  It’s a defensive situation.  It make you feel good in the short time, but eventually that feeling fails to really satisfy.

Responding, however, tries to make a bad situation into the best one possible.  It doesn’t seek the demise or worst for the others in the situation.

Really, when it comes down to it, it’s the difference in following what we call the Golden Rule or not.  Seeking what you want for others what you would want for yourself is tough.  It isn’t natural.  It isn’t what we want to do.  Trust me, I’ve failed it more often than not.

There’s another way of looking at it that I think can be applied.  Zig Ziglar says that if you help enough other people get what they want, you will get everything you want.  I think that is one of the best applications of what Jesus said.

Instead of reacting negatively, let’s respond positively.

Instead of doing unto others as they have done, do as you want to be done.

Treat others as you want to be treated, not as you have been.

Help others get what they want.  You will end up getting what you want.

Sow sparingly and you will reap sparingly.  Sow bountifully and you reap bountifully.

Let’s seek out the positive in all situations instead of seeking out the negative.  I think we will find that life will be a lot happier and more joyful as we go.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

