Home > Uncategorized > Quit Hacking

Quit Hacking

I love movies that depict earlier, brutal times. I’m sure that’s a fault of mine, somehow, but true.

The funny thing is that no matter how much we want to clean it up, the Bible is full of stories that include tales that would make some great PG-13 and R rated material.

1 Samuel 15 includes one of these. Samuel hacks a king to death when Saul disobeyed the Lord and let him live.

It’s easy to take the stance that I need to be obedient and hack my sin to death in light of this story. I’ve used this as an illustration numerous times. After all, Jesus said to cut off your hand and foot and gouge out your eye to get in the Kingdom.

Except that I was wrong.

I don’t have to hack my sin to death. I don’t have to win the victory.

Jesus has already done it.

I just have to trust and follow Christ.

You see, the problem with the way I have been teaching this thing is like defeating sin was up to me. Like I can just take my sword and axe and take on sin, all by myself.

You see, Jesus has already done the heavy lifting. He died for my sins and rose for my righteousness.

What does that leave us to do? Abide in Him. Live and walk in the Spirit. Let the word richly indwell. Assemble with each other. Stir each other up to live and do good works.

That’s it. Sure, it’s hard, but easy at the same time. We make it hard on ourselves. But His burden is easy.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

